Monday, 31 August 2009

Zürcher Theater Spektakel 13 - 30 August 2009

Zürcher Theater Spektakel has invited Zuleikha Chaudhari, noted Indian theatre director, to participate as a member of the jury.

Each year the festival directors invite from around the world 25 to 30 individuals and companies whose creations are marked by formal independence, innovative character and artistic ambition. Outstanding artistic personalities and new off-theatre talents whose unusual works are making ripples in the world of international theatre, dance and performance mark the history of the Zuercher Theater Spektakel. The programmes feature various forms of artistic expression.

Most recently it has been productions on the cutting edge of various artistic art forms – new music, theatre, opera, video, dance and performance – which have been the highlights of the programme: New forms of music theatre and in addition, the video, performance and fine arts creations of Marina Abramovic, Richard Forman, Michael Laub, Guillermo Gomez-Peña, Matthew Barney and the Australian Museum of Modern Oddities have demonstrated the versatility of the contemporary arts scene.

The patronage prize
Since 1986 the Zürcher Kantonalbank has awarded the ZKB-Patronage Prize of CHF 30,000 and the ZKB-Acknowledment Prize of CHF 5,000 to artists and companies featured at the festival. Each year the festival board nominates five productions which are judged by a panel of experts. 

The festival directors
Sandro Lunin is in charge of the artistic direction, together with Cornelia Howald and Werner Hegglin.

Jury members
Zuleikha Chaudhari, India
Mahmoud Aboudoma, Egypt
Enrique Diaz, Brazil
Klaus Hersche, Switzerland
Simone Anne von Büren, Switzerland