Wednesday, 30 April 2014

Architecture Biennale in Venice
Under the title of «A stroll through a fun palace», Hans Ulrich Obrist will present a multi-faceted project at the Architecture Biennale in Venice.

Pavilion of Switzerland at the 14th International Architecture Exhibition -la Biennale di Venezia 

Lucius Burckhardt and Cedric Price - A stroll through a fun palace

Curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist

In collaboration with Herzog & de Meuron, Atelier Bow-Wow, Lorenza Baroncelli, StefanoBoeri, Eleanor Bron, Liam Gillick, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Dan Graham, Dorothea vonHantelmann, Samantha Hardingham, Koo Jeong-a, Philippe Parreno, Asad Raza, Tino Sehgal,Mirko Zardini, and others

Opening: Friday 6 June 2014, 5.30 pm
Exhibition: 7 June to 23 November 2014

Lucius Burckhardt and Cedric Price - A stroll through a fun palace is a multi-facetedproject by Hans Ulrich Obrist to be presented by the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia at theSwiss Pavilion in the Giardini from 7 June to 23 November 2014.

In a digital time of unlimited access to information, where everyone can be an architect, acurator, an intellectual thinker, Hans Ulrich Obrist's Lucius Burckhardt and Cedric Price - Astroll through a fun palace revisits the recent past of architecture through retrospectivesof Lucius Burckhardt (1925-2003) and Cedric Price (1934-2003), reflecting on its future inthe 21st century.'We often invent the future with elements from the past. Lucius Burckhardt (1925-2003)and Cedric Price (1934-2003) were two great visionaries whose work resonates andinspires new generations in the 21st century.

At the core of both their work is a practice of drawing. At the centre of the project will be the archives of drawings of Cedric andLucius, of which different aspects will be revealed throughout the Biennale. 'A strollthrough a fun palace' in collaboration with architects and artists will present a laboratorywhere the ideas of Cedric and Lucius can be toolboxes to invent the future.'(Hans Ulrich Obrist, February 2014)

For more information click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.